The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Brakes, Wheels and TiresMessage format
 
bad58mike
Posted 2015-12-31 10:52 AM (#499556)
Subject: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?



Elite Veteran

Posts: 1073
10002525
Location: Southern California
Hi need help converting my 60 Chrysler Windsor pressure brake switch to a mechanical brake switch.

Any tips? Which one to get? I'll need the bracket that holds to the colum , wire harness, and switch of course

Thanks
Also any pics of your setup would be great

Bad58mike
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2015-12-31 1:12 PM (#499583 - in reply to #499556)
Subject: RE: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?



Expert

Posts: 2756
20005001001002525
Location: NorCal

http://www.forwardlook.net/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=59959&...
Top of the page Bottom of the page
imopar380
Posted 2015-12-31 5:37 PM (#499602 - in reply to #499583)
Subject: Re: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?



Expert 5K+

Posts: 6585
50001000500252525
Location: Victoria, BC, on Vancouver Island, Canada
I did the conversion to my 60 Saratoga as well, ran the wires back through the firewall and connected to a 1962 Chrysler mechanical brake light switch, and fabricated a bracket myself. The switch is activated by the brake pedal knuckle connected to the push rod of the master cyl.



(Brake_Light_Switch.jpg)



(stop_light_switch_mount.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Brake_Light_Switch.jpg (79KB - 90 downloads)
Attachments stop_light_switch_mount.JPG (102KB - 69 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
59 in Calif
Posted 2016-01-01 2:32 PM (#499665 - in reply to #499556)
Subject: Re: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?


Elite Veteran

Posts: 994
500100100100100252525
Location: Hayward, Calif
That's pretty much the same way I did wife's 59 dodge I working on. Also had to make a mounting bracket. Jerry
Top of the page Bottom of the page
bad58mike
Posted 2016-01-02 12:02 AM (#499711 - in reply to #499556)
Subject: RE: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?



Elite Veteran

Posts: 1073
10002525
Location: Southern California
thanks guys
Top of the page Bottom of the page
udoittwo
Posted 2016-01-06 10:21 AM (#500162 - in reply to #499556)
Subject: RE: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?



Elite Veteran

Posts: 1131
100010025
Location: Valley Forge, Pa.
I went to a parts place and asked for a generic 2 terminal switch. Mine will only be seen by me, so I can't see buying a possibly harder to find early MOPAR switch. IF the generic one should ever fail, you can buy a new one in stock at any parts place. Because he wasn't sure how to find the part, I think I just said bring me one for a 76 Monte Carlo or something GM in that era but try just asking for a generic 2 terminal switch.
I went to a home improvement store and got a pre-holed building construction bracket that was fairly heavy but not to heavy that I couldn't bend it as I needed and mounted it to the column so that the switch pin just touched the pedal and was very slightly depressed. I believe I had to open the hole up a little to fit the switch. The switch is threaded a long way so you put a nut on both sides of the bracket and adjust it in or out to the correct distance. Again, the bracket does not have to be REAL heavy as there should be only lite pressure on the switch pin. You can mount the switch just about anywhere it can touch the pedal that will move enough as soon as you touch it.
I just pulled the wires back through the fire wall that went to the MC switch and put slide on connectors and that was it. Nice thing is about this set up as compared to the MC switch is it can be changed quickly without opening into the brake fluid, only the switch itself can fail, nothing to do with rust, water, dirt in the fluid, leaks, poor terminal contact, low fluid, ect.
I guess, if you are running a correct MC, you could leave the switch and put on dummy wires?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
1960fury
Posted 2016-01-06 1:34 PM (#500178 - in reply to #500162)
Subject: RE: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?



Expert

Posts: 4799
20002000500100100252525
Location: northern germany
they are always on ebay, with brackets. it was a popular conversion back then, as they seemed to have trouble with the hydraulic switches (have a factory bulletin about this).
Top of the page Bottom of the page
59 in Calif
Posted 2016-01-08 10:43 AM (#500432 - in reply to #499556)
Subject: Re: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?


Elite Veteran

Posts: 994
500100100100100252525
Location: Hayward, Calif
I also got a generic switch from Napa. They have a large selection and if it ever fails it can be easily purchased again. Jerry
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Cmangeot
Posted 2016-01-22 6:03 PM (#502018 - in reply to #499556)
Subject: Re: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?


Extreme Veteran

Posts: 403
100100100100
Location: Park Hills, KY
Will this work for a 1960?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1965-1966-CHRYSLER-DODGE-PLYMOUTH-BRAKE-LIG...
Top of the page Bottom of the page
imopar380
Posted 2016-01-25 9:23 PM (#502293 - in reply to #502018)
Subject: Re: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?



Expert 5K+

Posts: 6585
50001000500252525
Location: Victoria, BC, on Vancouver Island, Canada
It's a different bracket than the one I used but I'm sure it could be adapted, as I had to do with mine. Same switch as mine.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
NicksGarage
Posted 2016-03-16 2:13 PM (#507047 - in reply to #499556)
Subject: Re: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?



Extreme Veteran

Posts: 534
50025
Location: San Diego, CA
So are the original switches just bad? I just got my car and the brake lights don't work. I ordered a new switch for the master cylinder.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
wizard
Posted 2016-03-16 3:16 PM (#507052 - in reply to #499556)
Subject: Re: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?



Board Moderator & Exner Expert 10K+

Posts: 11087
500050001000252525
Location: Southern Sweden - Sturkö island
Nick, as long as you use DOT 3 brake fluid, the hydraulic switches works good, howeer there's a slight delay in time before the pressure threshold closes the circuit.

If you plan to use synthetic brake fluid, then the switch will be auto-destructive

With a mechanical switch, it's possible to adjust more sensitive and you coul light up the brake lights only by depressing the pedal just a little
Top of the page Bottom of the page
NicksGarage
Posted 2016-03-16 4:56 PM (#507059 - in reply to #499556)
Subject: Re: Mechanical brake light switch for 60 Windsor ?



Extreme Veteran

Posts: 534
50025
Location: San Diego, CA
Thanks. I'll try the new switch first. If that doesn't work I'll put one on the pedal. Definitely don't want to drive around with no brake lights.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

Search for anything on eBay!

(Delete all cookies set by this site)