The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Shift Cable Questions
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Transmission and Rear AxleMessage format
 
furvedere
Posted 2016-05-15 10:18 PM (#511675)
Subject: Shift Cable Questions



Veteran

Posts: 245
10010025
Location: Rochester, NY
I have what I think is a 64 TorqueFlite Transmission in my 58 Plymouth Belvedere. I know the Poly 318 is a 64. I identified it by the stamping on block. I don't know how to identify the year of transmission. Here's what I do know. There is no parking brake on tail-shaft. There is a park function lock/cable. It has a dial type adjustment on shift cable at transmission end.

The shift cable is too short for this application. It's presently "stretched" over the top of the steering column to barely make it to the pushbuttons up at left side of dash. Long story short: I have issues pressing R button when engine is up to operating temperature. I can press R button in but not all the way. Car will not go into reverse when engine is hot...when it cools down all is ok. I have 3 questions for those that are familiar with the cables Mopar used in that era (late 50's to early-mid 60's):

1. Is there a longer cable from any earlier models that will work on my "64" TorqueFlite?

2. I'd like to be able to find a cable that will work/be long enough without removing my cable/stranding my car in the garage. Is this possible or just wishful thinking?

3. What did Ma Mopar do with the lengths/shapes of the ends of these different TorqueFlite shift cables through these years?

Thanks, Bob
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2016-05-16 12:54 PM (#511719 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: RE: Shift Cable Questions



Expert

Posts: 2923
2000500100100100100
Location: NorCal

The trans application can be determined by the part number stamped in the drivers side pan rail just above the pan gasket. Post the number here.

Pushbutton shift cables for the 727 came in three lengths, 42", 44" and 48"; don't confuse the pushbutton cable with the console shift cable, the cable ends are different.

It'll be pretty hard to determine which cable you need without measuring the existing cable.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
furvedere
Posted 2016-05-16 3:40 PM (#511742 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: RE: Shift Cable Questions



Veteran

Posts: 245
10010025
Location: Rochester, NY

 photo IMG_1168_zpsvgcjn21r.jpg
 photo IMG_1166_zpsplglvfvg.jpg


I'd sure like like to learn how you decode the numbers...if you'd like to share. Also, Are you saying the shift cable in my car (that's too short) and is hooked up to my push buttons, may be a console shift cable? The end I've had out...the push button end, looks proper...not modified in any way and has a little flattened end with a hole in it. Can post a photo if necessary. I have not had the transmission end of the cable out...yet.

Edit: Measured the cable in place with some masking tape. The sheath measured approximately 39". Obviously, I could not include what's inside transmission and did not include portion of cable sticking out on push button end.

Thanks, Bob

Edited by furvedere 2016-05-16 5:36 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2016-05-17 2:04 PM (#511831 - in reply to #511742)
Subject: RE: Shift Cable Questions



Expert

Posts: 2923
2000500100100100100
Location: NorCal

2464423= A 727 from a '64 318

1101= Build date August 2, 1964

897= Sequence number, the 897th built that day.

Your cable is probably a 44" The pushbutton end of the cable is the same from '56-'64, only the transmission end and length vary with the application. IOW, a pushbutton cable from a '62-'64 727 will hook up to the FL shifter mechanism.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
furvedere
Posted 2016-05-17 10:16 PM (#511867 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions



Veteran

Posts: 245
10010025
Location: Rochester, NY
Thanks Chizler...I appreciate it. Don't know why it's a 64 transmission but I'll take your word for it...plus it would make sense since the motor is a 64 too. Seems like I could use another 12" on my cable but by the sounds of it...they just didn't make them that long. I'd like to route it correctly through it's own hole in the firewall. Now ...the the only way it can sort of make it...is through the same hole as the steering column. Makes it difficult to put the boot on.

Is there anyone else out there that makes cables other than Imperial Services? I'm not keeping this motor and tranny forever ,so I hope to find a cable that isn't so expensive. Quick look on e-Bay...$295.00! What a rip-off. Anybody have a good place to call and can it be made without sending them my cable?

Thanks, Bob
Top of the page Bottom of the page
furvedere
Posted 2016-05-22 7:13 AM (#512127 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions



Veteran

Posts: 245
10010025
Location: Rochester, NY
I take it by the lack of response there's not many options out there for shift cables. I tried to get my pushbuttons back in the factory location yesterday. It's a no go. Shift cable is just too short. I myself think it's about a 42". As mentioned before, I've mounted it under the dash for now...using only factory holes on push button assy and under dash. I guess that's the way I have to run it for now. I thought someone may have mentioned that 62-64 Imperial may have a longer shift cable? Anyone out there that can verify this?

Bob
Top of the page Bottom of the page
FIN_NV
Posted 2016-05-22 9:12 AM (#512134 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions



Expert

Posts: 4566
200020005002525
Location: Northern New Jersey
Theres someone who repros these shift cables. He called himself Imperial Products. He had marketing issues, and now just produces them. Im noot sure who sells them these days. He would probably make you a custom cable if you supply the working Specs. Im sure a google search would find him.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
FIN_NV
Posted 2016-05-22 9:14 AM (#512135 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions



Expert

Posts: 4566
200020005002525
Location: Northern New Jersey
Theres someone who repros these shift cables. He called himself Imperial Products. He had marketing issues, and now just produces them. Im noot sure who sells them these days. He would probably make you a custom cable if you supply the working Specs. Im sure a google search would find him.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
finsruskw
Posted 2016-05-22 2:59 PM (#512157 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions



Expert

Posts: 1759
10005001001002525
Location: Eastern Iowa
The Chrysler 300 Intn;l club has had some made.
Check on their web site.
I believe they are a club store item
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2016-05-22 3:02 PM (#512158 - in reply to #512134)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions



Expert

Posts: 2923
2000500100100100100
Location: NorCal

Imperial Services is the cable maker but they've gone away from dealing with the customer directly and now sell through other vendors. Those are the $150 cables you see from restoration vendors and on e-bay.

http://www.imperialservices.net/
Top of the page Bottom of the page
59 in Calif
Posted 2016-05-25 11:11 PM (#512440 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions


Elite Veteran

Posts: 1031
100025
Location: Hayward, Calif
I had a guy in Chico, Cal make me a custom PB cable . As I remember it was about $90. It worked perfectly. When you measure out your cable add another 3-4" beyond what you think you need. You will thank yourself for it later. I can't find his info at the moment, but look back in the posts, sometime last yr. I posted all his info. I sent him my old cable and he made a new cable to the length I asked for. I'l look around here some more and see if I can find the info on this guy again. Jerry
Top of the page Bottom of the page
59 in Calif
Posted 2016-05-25 11:53 PM (#512444 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions


Elite Veteran

Posts: 1031
100025
Location: Hayward, Calif
I found the info ! You can google Calif Push-Pull Inc. phone # 530-893-4060. Talk to David, he said he would keep the specs on file for the cable he made for me. The trans end of the cable will be different for your application. I found him willing to work with me for what I needed. As I remember there was a turn around time of about a week. And he answers the phone !!!!! Jerry
Top of the page Bottom of the page
big m
Posted 2016-05-26 11:46 AM (#512477 - in reply to #512444)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions



Expert 5K+

Posts: 7435
5000200010010010010025
Location: Williams California
59 in Calif - 2016-05-25 8:53 PM

I found the info ! You can google Calif Push-Pull Inc. phone # 530-893-4060. Talk to David, he said he would keep the specs on file for the cable he made for me. The trans end of the cable will be different for your application. I found him willing to work with me for what I needed. As I remember there was a turn around time of about a week. And he answers the phone !!!!! Jerry


That's great info, Jerry!!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
wayfarer
Posted 2016-05-26 11:55 AM (#512478 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions



Elite Veteran

Posts: 729
50010010025
Location: Central Ory-Gun
Okay, as a recap (at least for me...) what is needed to use a 63 model year trans in a 59 model year Plymouth? Which cable is used? Are they interchangeable at each end?
I understand that the Park function will require 'something'...any ideas?
I had a inquiry just yesterday regarding this situation and would like to be able to help the guy out.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2016-05-26 1:26 PM (#512489 - in reply to #512478)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions



Expert

Posts: 2923
2000500100100100100
Location: NorCal

The pushbutton shift cable used on the '62-'64 cars will hook up to the '56-'61 pushbutton shifter.

To use the Park function you need to mount the park mechanism somewhere within reach of the cable. I mounted a '62-'64 park mechanism in a box below the dash.



(Park Low.jpg)



(Park plate.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Park Low.jpg (68KB - 120 downloads)
Attachments Park plate.jpg (60KB - 129 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
furvedere
Posted 2016-05-28 9:00 PM (#512694 - in reply to #512444)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions



Veteran

Posts: 245
10010025
Location: Rochester, NY
59 in Calif - 2016-05-25 11:53 PM

I found the info ! You can google Calif Push-Pull Inc. phone # 530-893-4060. Talk to David, he said he would keep the specs on file for the cable he made for me. The trans end of the cable will be different for your application. I found him willing to work with me for what I needed. As I remember there was a turn around time of about a week. And he answers the phone !!!!! Jerry


That is great info. Jerry. I remember Calif. Push-Pull as you posted it on another thread of mine a while ago. $90 is a great deal considering the cables on e-Bay from Imperial Services are $250-300. They're so lazy in their ads too. Won't post anything in the description...no length no nothing. I better get to David sooner rather than later I guess...before he figures out how expensive his competition is. I just hate to take my 58 out of commission now and lose a big chuck of the cruisin' season.

Thanks Jerry...

Bob

Edited by furvedere 2016-05-28 9:03 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
furvedere
Posted 2016-06-30 7:36 PM (#515601 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: Re: Shift Cable Questions



Veteran

Posts: 245
10010025
Location: Rochester, NY
Talked to David at California Push-Pull today. Unfortunately he said he can't help me with reproducing a longer original type cable because transmission fluid will destroy the materials he uses. I'm assuming the sheath is what he is talking about. I sent you a PM Jerry. I guess I didn't realize with your application the cable that California Push-Pull made you will be isolated from transmission fluid. Am I right? I'm bummed. I came up empty with Imperial Products...Imperial Services and the Chrysler 300 club. I see the cables on e-bay. They are very expensive...$250-300, plus the vendor is super lazy. They don't bother to describe them at all and don't answer my questions. They don't appear to be much longer than what I have either. Judging by how short the cable I have is (42"), I bet I need at least a 52-54" cable.

Bob
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2018-03-10 4:19 PM (#559599 - in reply to #511675)
Subject: RE: Shift Cable Questions



Expert

Posts: 4350
200020001001001002525
Location: So. California
My transmission number is 2125122 and 0052 867. I assume that this is a really early built '62 318 poly transmission, correct?

Furvedere, I am in the same situation as you are. I need a much longer cable and it looks like the 48" is the longest. John, what application used this longer cable? I talked to Imperial Services and they said they would be willing to make a cable up for me. I just need to give them the length I need. But of course, they are quite expensive, around $260-$275. But I also found this local place in Los Angeles that claims to make these cables all the time. I am going to give them a call and maybe pay them a visit next week.

http://www.controlcables.com/custom-shift-cables/



(PB727No.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments PB727No.jpg (96KB - 15 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2018-03-11 3:36 PM (#559689 - in reply to #559599)
Subject: RE: Shift Cable Questions



Expert

Posts: 2923
2000500100100100100
Location: NorCal
Powerflite - 2018-03-10 1:19 PM

My transmission number is 2125122 and 0052 867. I assume that this is a really early built '62 318 poly transmission, correct?


Yes, the build date is July 28, 1961 and it's for a '62 318. I don't know what specific length was used in which cars, the book only lists the length so it's up to you to determine which length is appropriate for your car. It's easier to use a cable that's too long but not if it's too short.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread


(Delete all cookies set by this site)