The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

brake light switch
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Brakes, Wheels and TiresMessage format
 
billy
Posted 2016-10-21 9:05 PM (#524016)
Subject: brake light switch



Extreme Veteran

Posts: 329
10010010025
Location: upstate new york
I need to replace the brake light switch,,, screwed into the end of the Master cylinder...any tricks or tips? When I unscrew the old one will all the fluid come out and I'm destined to re-bleed the brakes? We've troubleshooted my lack of brake lights to the switch and I have the replacement ready to go in...doesn't look difficult just looking for words of wisdom...thanks, billy
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Viper Guy
Posted 2016-10-22 12:46 AM (#524027 - in reply to #524016)
Subject: Re: brake light switch



Expert

Posts: 1451
10001001001001002525
Location: Branson, MO
I replaced mine with no problem. Just unscrewed the old one, quickly put in the new one, and hardly got my fingers wet.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
60 dart
Posted 2016-10-22 4:18 AM (#524030 - in reply to #524016)
Subject: Re: brake light switch



Expert 5K+

Posts: 8604
500020001000500100
Location: WHEELING,WV.>>>HOME OF WWVA
like viper said --------------------------------------------------later
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Rebels-59
Posted 2016-10-22 5:14 AM (#524032 - in reply to #524016)
Subject: Re: brake light switch



Board Moderator & Exner Expert 10K+

50005000200010010010025
Location: .Norfolk..Mafia.. ,England UK
The easy way to troubleshoot a faulty switch is to remove the 2 wires and join them together, If brake lights work then change the switch,
As mentioned above simply unscew the old and put finger over the hole before you fit the new one, You can have someone gently press the brake pedal once you screw the new switch in one thread and then quickly tighten the switch , just to be sure to remove any air..
.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
udoittwo
Posted 2016-10-22 9:39 AM (#524049 - in reply to #524016)
Subject: RE: brake light switch



Expert

Posts: 1232
100010010025
Location: Valley Forge, Pa.
Basically like gravity bleeding a bleeder. A little fluid will come out but as long as there is fluid behind it pushing it out and you don't tough the pedal, air will not enter.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
FIN_NV
Posted 2016-10-22 1:01 PM (#524074 - in reply to #524016)
Subject: Re: brake light switch



Expert

Posts: 4582
20002000500252525
Location: Northern New Jersey
Put some Pipe Dope oon the new threads
Top of the page Bottom of the page
flattie45
Posted 2016-10-22 3:43 PM (#524084 - in reply to #524016)
Subject: Re: brake light switch


Veteran

Posts: 194
100252525
Location: Dorset, England
I had to replace 1 a year for the past 5 years. Cheap and expensive, even NOS, all failed. A wretched, useless design, the terminals arc under light braking and fail.
This year I gave up and changed it out for for a mechanical pull switch actuated by the pedal.
My experience recommends you do the same or you'll be changing it again next month.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
imopar380
Posted 2016-10-22 11:55 PM (#524108 - in reply to #524016)
Subject: Re: brake light switch



Expert 5K+

Posts: 6940
5000100050010010010010025
Location: Victoria, BC, on Vancouver Island, Canada
If you use DOT-5 (Silicone) Brake fluid the pressure switches generally fail on a regular basis. I upgraded my brakes years ago to front disks, with a dual master cylinder and nowhere to put in a pressure switch so I routed a mechanical switch to work on the brake pedal push rod knuckle. I'm on the second fail of the pedal switch as of tonight, just got the car home and noticed the brake lights are out, switch not working. I'll have to jump the 2 wires tomorrow and make sure.

Edited by imopar380 2016-10-22 11:56 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
imopar380
Posted 2016-10-23 4:42 PM (#524161 - in reply to #524016)
Subject: Re: brake light switch



Expert 5K+

Posts: 6940
5000100050010010010010025
Location: Victoria, BC, on Vancouver Island, Canada
Checked everything out today, and when I pulled out of the garage I had brake lights again. Turns out it wasn't the pedal switch, but the hot wire outside the firewall was nearly frayed through where it had been spliced into to a longer wire that I ran back through the firewall to the pedal switch, so it was an intermittent connection.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
billy
Posted 2016-10-24 12:19 PM (#524239 - in reply to #524016)
Subject: Re: brake light switch



Extreme Veteran

Posts: 329
10010010025
Location: upstate new york
Brake light switch went easy as you all suggested. Didn't lose much fluid, didn't even have to top off the Master Cylinder....took her out for a ride as the brake shoes and shocks were just replaced...All was well until the tranny fluid line into the bottom of the radiator let lose...nice new coating of tranny fluid....everywhere....oh well always something....:)...billy
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2016-11-19 8:21 PM (#526669 - in reply to #524016)
Subject: RE: brake light switch



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5664
50005001002525
Location: Lower Mainland BC
billy - 2016-10-21 9:05 PM We've troubleshooted my lack of brake lights to the switch and I have the replacement ready to go in...doesn't look difficult just looking for words of wisdom...thanks, billy


Billy: I am installing a new Raybestos MC36063 MC but need a new stop light switch. I can't find either a 1604989 or a 2084284 (SUPERCEDED FROM PART #1604989).

What did you use?

This MC (except not from Amazon):

https://www.amazon.com/Raybestos-MC36063-Professional-Master-Cylinde...

Top of the page Bottom of the page
mobileparts
Posted 2016-11-22 3:25 PM (#526868 - in reply to #524016)
Subject: Re: brake light switch


Veteran

Posts: 195
100252525
The real stop lite switch for 1955 - 1961 is a ---- 1/4" pipe thread ------ and NOT the 1/8" pipe thread ........ and has been OBSOLETE through regular channels for years...............
If you want to do it right --- I have the CORRECT stop lite switch --- N.O.S. ---- ONLY ----.....
Call me -- Craig -- 516 - 485 - 1935 ..... New York,.......
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2016-11-22 3:32 PM (#526872 - in reply to #526868)
Subject: Re: brake light switch



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5664
50005001002525
Location: Lower Mainland BC
mobileparts - 2016-11-22 3:25 PM The real stop lite switch for 1955 - 1961 is a ---- 1/4" pipe thread ------ and NOT the 1/8" pipe thread ........ and has been OBSOLETE through regular channels for years...............
If you want to do it right --- I have the CORRECT stop lite switch --- N.O.S. ---- ONLY ----.....
Call me -- Craig -- 516 - 485 - 1935 ..... New York,.......


Thanks Craig. I got one yesterday from my local NOS parts man (100,000 parts and I believe him - with a dBase system to determine stock (or not)). He had a box of brake light switches, include a NOS 1/4" NPT one which I bought and installed.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)