The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Electrical, Battery and ChargingMessage format
 
56D500boy
Posted 2017-07-05 7:37 PM (#543605)
Subject: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 3132
2000100010025
Location: Lower Mainland BC
I am redoing some of the crusty wiring on my 56 D500 engine as I put it back together (valve covers off to adjust the valves and get painted, other can's of worms, etc).

I bought a NOS 1507 050 coolant temperature sender to replace the existing sender and now I am confused by the presence of two fibre (electrical insulation) washers (one tiny inner one and one larger outer one). I am not sure where the ring terminal needs to go (sandwiched between the washers??) or what?



Edited by 56D500boy 2017-07-05 7:40 PM




(1507050_CoolantTempSensor.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments 1507050_CoolantTempSensor.jpg (65KB - 48 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2017-07-05 8:52 PM (#543610 - in reply to #543605)
Subject: RE: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 3132
2000100010025
Location: Lower Mainland BC
IF someone could confirm, I think the fibre washers are there to prevent contact between the gauge wire ring terminal and the main brass body of the sender. On that basis, the ring terminal will just go under the pressed metal nut, which is in insulated contact with the center portion of the sender (must be a variable resistance to ground = variable current or voltage (?) = the gauge signal). (Or something like that )

(My existing sender does not have that single nut - it has two jamb nuts which don't want to come off now without spinning the center terminal)



Edited by 56D500boy 2017-07-05 8:55 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2017-07-05 10:37 PM (#543613 - in reply to #543610)
Subject: RE: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 4246
2000200010010025
Location: So. California
It's just a single connection that you don't want shorting out so you're analysis is correct. You should put the wire on top of the large fiber washer, but I would also put a thin metal washer under the nut so that it won't twist your wire as much when you tighten it. All depends on if you can fit it though, so it needs to be thin.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2017-07-05 11:31 PM (#543618 - in reply to #543613)
Subject: RE: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 3132
2000100010025
Location: Lower Mainland BC
Powerflite - 2017-07-05 10:37 PM It's just a single connection that you don't want shorting out so you're analysis is correct. You should put the wire on top of the large fiber washer, but I would also put a thin metal washer under the nut so that it won't twist your wire as much when you tighten it. All depends on if you can fit it though, so it needs to be thin.


Thanks for the confirmation and the suggestion. I will finish that part of the rewiring tomorrow.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Chrome58
Posted 2017-07-06 4:55 AM (#543622 - in reply to #543618)
Subject: RE: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Elite Veteran

Posts: 1166
10001002525
Location: Belgium, 40 miles south of Brussels
I bought a new one from Rockauto for my car.
And I must say I was puzzled by the terminal, which is a thin round thing.
I connected my wire terminal to it, but it keeps slipping.

I'm unsure about the correct way to connect the wire to it.





(1T1323__ra_p.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments 1T1323__ra_p.jpg (24KB - 46 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
mstrug
Posted 2017-07-06 6:11 AM (#543624 - in reply to #543605)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5436
500010010010010025
Location: Newark, Texas (Fort Worth)
That one needs a connector with a slot in it. Looks like a GM unit, but, I suspect they all used them at one tome or another. Here:

http://www.americanautowire.com/shop/connector-housing-temperature-...

66-71 mopar:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1966-1971-Mopar-Oil-Pressure-Gauge-Light-Se...

white one:

http://www.repairconnector.com/products/GM-Single-Wire-Coolant-Temp...

Edited by mstrug 2017-07-06 6:15 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Chrome58
Posted 2017-07-06 8:42 AM (#543631 - in reply to #543605)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Elite Veteran

Posts: 1166
10001002525
Location: Belgium, 40 miles south of Brussels
Thanks you.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
LD3 Greg
Posted 2017-07-06 11:49 AM (#543648 - in reply to #543631)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender


Expert

Posts: 1560
10005002525
Location: Ontario, Canada
This is what I use and I will send you 2 when you order the other terminals.

Greg



(image.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments image.jpg (80KB - 46 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2017-07-06 3:06 PM (#543659 - in reply to #543605)
Subject: RE: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 3132
2000100010025
Location: Lower Mainland BC
Okay so I got the old sender out (5/8" wrench and a good rap on the end of the wrench with a rubber mallet to get it going).

Lost a tiny amount of coolant in the less than a second that it took to start the new one in. (Note to self: place rag under sender location next time to catch the flow).

As I am tightening it up, I realize that I might have out-clevered myself: I put white teflon tape on the threads of the new sender before I removed the old one and installed the new one. Unless the threads cut through the tape somewhere, I will have lost the ground that the sender needs. DUH.

I am going to leave it as is until I start the engine again (tomorrow?) and see if I get any signal from the sender. If not, when then engine cools I will remove the new sender and remove the teflon tape and re-install. Probably have to temporarily re-install the old sender as a stopper while I remove the teflon tape (if indeed that is needed).

We'll see.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2017-07-06 3:16 PM (#543660 - in reply to #543605)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 4246
2000200010010025
Location: So. California
Teflon tape tears very easily and under compression, fills in all the gaps to create the seal that you want. However, in the locations of the thread that make good contact between the metals, the tape will press out and allow the metals to contact each other. This is assuming that you only used 1.5 to 2 wraps of tape. So in other words, you should be able to get good electrical contact despite using the teflon. It is easy to test. Just put an ohm meter between the sensor housing and the negative battery terminal and see what kind of resistance you get. If you have high resistance, try tightening the sensor a bit more. If it is still to high, take it back out and only use 1 wrap and try again. It should be fine.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2017-07-07 1:10 AM (#543682 - in reply to #543660)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 3132
2000100010025
Location: Lower Mainland BC
Powerflite - 2017-07-06 3:16 PM It is easy to test. Just put an ohm meter between the sensor housing and the negative battery terminal and see what kind of resistance you get.


Good plan. Thanks. I put my DMM onto 200 ohms and touched one probe to the brass outer hex of the sender and the other to the generator mounting bolt on the other side of the water manifold. I got continuity so I will assume that the gauge will work just fine. (I changed the sensor (and the wiring) because I never saw the coolant temp gauge rise very much even after the engine running for some time).

Poking around my files, I found this:



Edited by 56D500boy 2017-07-07 1:32 AM




(TemperatureSenderCrossSection.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments TemperatureSenderCrossSection.jpg (67KB - 50 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
60 dart
Posted 2017-07-07 4:50 AM (#543683 - in reply to #543605)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert 5K+

Posts: 8325
50002000100010010010025
Location: WHEELING,WV.>>>HOME OF WWVA
you can make a real nice terminal with a small file , a female terminal and a good set of pliers and no one will ever know and it'll stay tight-----------------------------------------------------------later
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2017-09-08 4:35 PM (#547994 - in reply to #543683)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 3132
2000100010025
Location: Lower Mainland BC
I took the 56 Dodge to an ad hoc car show at an A&W about 20 miles away yesterday. Went there early = rush hour traffic. I did get on a highway part of the way and did have the old dear up to 65 mph (Yikes) at one point. When I arrived at the A&W I noticed that the coolant temperature was still as hot as I have ever seen it, i.e. barely off the peg (moves off the peg when the ignition is on) but always no higher than the start of the line, as shown in the photo below. (Just an example 56 Dodge dash photo (not mine) that I have annotated).

Seems too low. How can I check this?





Edited by 56D500boy 2017-09-08 5:51 PM




(56DodgeWaterTempGaugeExample.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments 56DodgeWaterTempGaugeExample.jpg (175KB - 38 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DepsilonD
Posted 2017-09-08 6:33 PM (#547999 - in reply to #543605)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Elite Veteran

Posts: 749
50010010025
Location: Buena Park, CA
The red line you drew in is typically where my car runs on the gauge Dave. It's gone midway + on the gauge a few times but only in high heat/traffic situations (like sitting in line at a car show).
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2017-09-08 7:01 PM (#548000 - in reply to #547999)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 3132
2000100010025
Location: Lower Mainland BC
DepsilonD - 2017-09-08 6:33 PM The red line you drew in is typically where my car runs on the gauge Dave. It's gone midway + on the gauge a few times but only in high heat/traffic situations (like sitting in line at a car show).


Well, I guess it could be real then. I did have the rad recored with a 3 row instead of the original 2 row.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2017-09-12 4:45 PM (#548231 - in reply to #548000)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 2900
2000500100100100100
Location: NorCal

If you have an efficient cooling system the gauge will follow the thermostat temperature, 180° thermostat will have the needle about half-way and a 160° will read lower.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2018-04-27 5:35 PM (#562378 - in reply to #548231)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 3132
2000100010025
Location: Lower Mainland BC
57chizler - 2017-09-12 4:45 PM
If you have an efficient cooling system the gauge will follow the thermostat temperature, 180° thermostat will have the needle about half-way and a 160° will read lower.


I installed that NOS temperature sender and there was no real change to the very low temp reading.

Based on my understanding of the way the gauge works, there is a mechanically variable resistor inside the sender, like this:



On this basis, I presume that the voltage that gauge sees is variable, between 0 V cold and battery voltage (or something stabilized, e.g. 5 V) maximum when very hot.

I happen to have a "spare" temp gauge that came with a gauge cluster that I bought. Yesterday I tried this temp gauge by hooking it to the battery, one terminal to + and the other to ground. I wasn't sure what the hook up was and therefore I tried it two different ways on the two terminals on the back. In both cases, the needle on the gauge went hard to the left.


I am probably missing something. Like one terminal is 12V in and other is 5V out to the sender and the sender is ground ???.

OR ???

Not feeling very gauge smart at the moment.



Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2018-04-27 6:46 PM (#562382 - in reply to #543605)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 4246
2000200010010025
Location: So. California
You're just assuming the wrong resistance. Put a resistor in series with it, like the sender would give and then do the same thing. I am not sure what that nominal resistance is, but it could be many hundreds of ohms. Connect it to a potentiometer so you could adjust the resistance until you get a half-way reading on your gauge. Then you will know that is the amount the gauge is looking for.

Oh, and another thing....Many of these old gauges are gravity sensitive. If you don't have them sitting like they are designed to sit in the dash, they can do weird things that you wouldn't expect them to.

Edited by Powerflite 2018-04-27 6:51 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
wizard
Posted 2018-04-28 4:36 AM (#562410 - in reply to #543605)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Board Moderator & Exner Expert 10K+

Posts: 11374
5000500010001001001002525
Location: Southern Sweden - Sturkö island
Try to mount two nuts on the stud and carefully turn the stem a Little - sometimes there's bad contact inside the senders,
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2018-04-28 5:25 PM (#562438 - in reply to #562410)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 3132
2000100010025
Location: Lower Mainland BC
wizard - 2018-04-28 4:36 AM
Try to mount two nuts on the stud and carefully turn the stem a Little - sometimes there's bad contact inside the senders,


The sender is a NOS one that I installed. But sure, I will try that too.

I am not sure if the voltage to/from the gauge is regulated to 5V or ?? based on these diagrams:





(56DodgeWiringDiagrams_2.JPG)



(56DodgeWiringDiagrams_3.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments 56DodgeWiringDiagrams_2.JPG (212KB - 7 downloads)
Attachments 56DodgeWiringDiagrams_3.JPG (234KB - 8 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2018-04-28 9:37 PM (#562454 - in reply to #562438)
Subject: Re: Question about the 1507 050 Coolant Temperature Sender



Expert

Posts: 3132
2000100010025
Location: Lower Mainland BC
The coloured section is a portion of this larger 11 x 17 (ish) wiring schematic. I know that the colours aren't always accurate, I just use it as a guide.





(56DodgeWiringDiagram_Combined_small.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments 56DodgeWiringDiagram_Combined_small.jpg (242KB - 5 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread


(Delete all cookies set by this site)