The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

need a longer cable for my 60 chrysler if i install a 64 413 drivetrain
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Transmission and Rear AxleMessage format
 
tailfins
Posted 2017-07-29 4:31 PM (#545121)
Subject: need a longer cable for my 60 chrysler if i install a 64 413 drivetrain


Expert

Posts: 1441
100010010010010025
Location: calif
anyone know of a solution?
later model year torqueflite cable?
or vendor that can make one?
thanks
Top of the page Bottom of the page
oldhippie
Posted 2017-07-29 5:54 PM (#545127 - in reply to #545121)
Subject: Re: need a longer cable for my 60 chrysler if i install a 64 413 drivetrain


Veteran

Posts: 126
10025
I put a 64 NYer 413 engine & trans in my 60 Matador. One of the members here (60_Dart) hooked me up with a Chrysler cable, P/N #2060865, that was plenty long enough, but the threaded cup that goes to the speedo was too shallow to reach the threads. I got it to work by having the cup from my 60 cable put on the new one, worked like a charm! Haven't driven it yet, but I can't imagine why it wouldn't be functional.

(I don't know what that P/N correlates to for vehicle years, sorry.)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
mstrug
Posted 2017-07-29 6:32 PM (#545130 - in reply to #545121)
Subject: Re: need a longer cable for my 60 chrysler if i install a 64 413 drivetrain



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5553
50005002525
Location: Newark, Texas (Fort Worth)
http://www.aandatrans.com/Products/Push-Button-Conversion-Cable-Set...

I added these for future ref.:

http://www.aandatrans.com/Products/727904-Reconditioned-STock-(1962--64-12)-Push-Button-(Core-Required)__22740R-1.aspx

http://www.aandatrans.com/Products/Push-Button-Conversion-Cable-Set...

http://www.aandatrans.com/Products/60-Replacement-Shift-Cable-(Standard-Length)__6014-60.aspx

http://www.aandatrans.com/Products/72-Replacement-Shift-Cable__6014...

http://www.aandatrans.com/Products/727904-Cable-Sleeve-Push-Button-(1962-64-12)__22770SLE64.aspx




Edited by mstrug 2017-07-29 6:34 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
51coronet
Posted 2017-08-02 3:45 PM (#545376 - in reply to #545121)
Subject: Re: need a longer cable for my 60 chrysler if i install a 64 413 drivetrain


Veteran

Posts: 264
1001002525
I sent A&A transmission an email asking about some details with the shift kit for pushbutton cars using late model trans. Looks like the imperial services guys don't make anything like it anymore so this may be our new source for anyone swapping in a late model torqueflite or overdrive transmission. I already have the 518 / 46RH and some accessories so hopefully a working shift kit will seal the deal.


They also have a kit for the later pushbutton trans 1962-1964. AA354

I actually got an email answer. This is good news for anyone wanting to swap to a later transmission.

Edited by 51coronet 2017-08-02 6:59 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2017-08-03 1:16 PM (#545490 - in reply to #545121)
Subject: RE: need a longer cable for my 60 chrysler if i install a 64 413 drivetrain



Expert

Posts: 3005
20001000
Location: NorCal

OP needs to specify if he needs a shift cable or speedo cable and the length of the one he has now.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
59 in Calif
Posted 2017-08-30 8:23 PM (#547385 - in reply to #545121)
Subject: Re: need a longer cable for my 60 chrysler if i install a 64 413 drivetrain


Elite Veteran

Posts: 1070
10002525
Location: Hayward, Calif
Hey Guys, I've been out of touch for awhile, sorry. BUT there is another solution to this problem. I put a 76 360 and 727 T/F in a 59 Dodge and used the push button controls. I shortened the shift lever at the trans as much as possible, put a softer detent spring inside and had a cable made up from Calif Push-Pull Inc. 3 Commerce Ct Ste 130 Chico, Calif. Ph 530-893-4060 I don't remember guys name I talked to, but he was very helpful. I sent him an old cable with instruction to change the cable end at the trans and the length I needed. It works perfectly!!!! It may have cost me $100 or less, don't remember now, but it was money well spent. He kept that info on file for reference for you other guys. Jerry
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)