The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Reproduction wiring harness
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Electrical, Battery and ChargingMessage format
 
57Groucho
Posted 2018-06-09 10:49 PM (#564916)
Subject: Reproduction wiring harness



Veteran

Posts: 110
100
Location: Minneapolis
I'm looking for a reproduction complete wiring harness for my 57 Fireflite. I used the search function and found some good information. I had decided on getting one from Greg Leggatt but I contacted him and it turns out that he is no longer making them. Does anyone have a recommendation for me?

Also, I considered buying a universal harness with a fuse box and wiring it in myself. Has anyone here done that? I like the idea of having a fuse box but I'm not going to add any accessories and I'm keeping my generator so I'm thinking that is not necessary. Am I correct in this thinking?

Thanks for any and all input.

- Dan
Top of the page Bottom of the page
BigBlockMopar
Posted 2018-06-10 5:25 AM (#564926 - in reply to #564916)
Subject: Re: Reproduction wiring harness



Expert

Posts: 3433
2000100010010010010025
Location: Netherlands
I would think the main issue with a universal harness is the mismatch in connectors.
While some of the stock connectors can be removed and reused, some are molded with the wiring.

If you're set on getting a new harness I would try to get something that's as close to the year of your car.

And eventhough these cars worked fine when new, I would still look into adding some 'safety' measures to limit the electrical load on certain components and prevent possible fires.
The bulkhead connector is a prima source for resistance (=heat) and voltage drop.
Like for instance, adding a relay to power the headlights with full battery/generator power. This can be hidden out of sight nicely, takes the load of the headlight switch in the dash, prevents high current having to pass through the firewall bulkhead connector, and for icing on the cake it makes the headlights light up brighter as well.

Same goes for the ignition system.
Put it behind a relay and you'll releave the ignition switch of its electrical load, prevent another substancial current going through the firewall, and get more power to the ignition system for a better spark.


Edited by BigBlockMopar 2018-06-10 5:32 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
mstrug
Posted 2018-06-10 5:49 AM (#564927 - in reply to #564916)
Subject: Re: Reproduction wiring harness



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5521
5000500
Location: Newark, Texas (Fort Worth)
Did you call these guys?

http://www.desoto.org/vendors

http://www.ynzyesterdaysparts.com/our_products.htm

Edited by mstrug 2018-06-10 6:09 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57Groucho
Posted 2018-06-10 10:01 AM (#564939 - in reply to #564916)
Subject: Re: Reproduction wiring harness



Veteran

Posts: 110
100
Location: Minneapolis
BigBlockMopar - Thanks for the good info. I like the idea of using relays and I'll definitely do that. I'm pretty set on a new harness, its a pretty big mess under the dash in my car. Someone was in there previously and they clearly didn't know or didn't care what they were doing, there's at least one cut lamp cord in there. I figured I'd be better off starting from scratch.

mstrug - I will call ynz and Rhode Island Wiring, thank you.

Has anyone used ynz or Rhode Island harnesses?

- Dan
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Space Trukin Wagon
Posted 2018-06-10 10:33 AM (#564946 - in reply to #564939)
Subject: Re: Reproduction wiring harness


Veteran

Posts: 139
10025
Location: Ohio
Do you still have the original wiring harness from the car ?

If yes, there’s a company in SoCal that will make a brand new reproduction with the correct connectors. They probably can recreate it even without the original as they use the factory wiring diagrams.
The company is M&H electric. From time to time there’s a backlog so it can take awhile but from experience I can state they do excellent work.

As an FYI they make all the Mopar wiring harness sold through Year One for all the muscle car Mopars. (It’s an agreement that was worked out years ago).
The reason I mention it is because if Year One offers the harness for sale M&H cannot make one, it has to be purchased directly from Year One. However, if it’s a wiring harness not under that agreement then they will make a reproduction.
To the best of my knowledge the earliest Mopar wiring harnesses being offered by Year One begins with the 1964 model year so it shouldn’t be a problem with any of the FL cars.

Edited by Space Trukin Wagon 2018-06-10 10:35 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
1960fury
Posted 2018-06-10 10:55 AM (#564950 - in reply to #564916)
Subject: Re: Reproduction wiring harness



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5360
50001001001002525
Location: northern germany
In 30+ years, outside of the engine bay (only the single cables that are not covered), I've never seen a MOPAR wiring harness gone bad and in my cars (4) they are still like new. Look at 30 yo cars or 50s GM cars. Anybody here that has seen a bad 57-61 Mopar wiring harness? We, 59-61s, could need lots of reproductions, the wiring is not one of them.

Edited by 1960fury 2018-06-10 10:56 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57Groucho
Posted 2018-06-10 11:01 AM (#564952 - in reply to #564916)
Subject: Re: Reproduction wiring harness



Veteran

Posts: 110
100
Location: Minneapolis
Space Trukin - I'll talk to M&H as well. Thanks.

1960fury - The main problem with my harness is that it has been hacked up by a previous owner. Maybe I'd be better off just fixing what they messed up?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
di_ch_NY56
Posted 2018-06-10 1:31 PM (#564959 - in reply to #564950)
Subject: Re: Reproduction wiring harness



Elite Veteran

Posts: 1179
1000100252525
Location: ZH, Switzerland

1960fury - 2018-06-09 4:55 PM In 30+ years, outside of the engine bay (only the single cables that are not covered), I've never seen a MOPAR wiring harness gone bad and in my cars (4) they are still like new. Look at 30 yo cars or 50s GM cars. Anybody here that has seen a bad 57-61 Mopar wiring harness? We, 59-61s, could need lots of reproductions, the wiring is not one of them.

At least until 1960 Chrysler did not use bulk connectors. In my case the wiring harness on my Letter is almost like new (no damage around sharp corners, black self adhesive band intact). The only issue could be that the contacts were getting corrosion causing a higher transition resistance.

My 1962 Dodge W200 conversion truck (fire rescue truck) had that bulk connector in the firewall. The worst connection pin in that bulk connetor in my opinion is the full current to the ammeter and back.

The only issue at mine is, that I have to replace the sockets for the back up lamps, tail lamps and trunk illumination.

Other than that I plan to "bath" the contacts in citric acid and neutralize it with baking powder as Wizard proposed to me.

Happy Restoring!

Dieter

Top of the page Bottom of the page
ttotired
Posted 2018-06-10 4:55 PM (#564970 - in reply to #564916)
Subject: Re: Reproduction wiring harness



Expert 5K+

Posts: 8242
50002000100010010025
Location: Perth Australia
Big job replacing a harness, but worthwhile

I am an auto electrician, so its what I do.

I am not a fan of the universal wiring harnesses as they arnt any easier than making it yourself really. Only positive about them is the fuses and relays, but that's it.

Universal means it universally fits nothing

I rebuilt mine from my 60 dodge, basically took a couple of days (wasn't rushing). That was repair time, not remove and refit, to do that, it would be about a week



(Dash removal (48)s.JPG)



(Wiring 001s.JPG)



(Wiring 002s.JPG)



(Wiring 12s flink.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Dash removal (48)s.JPG (129KB - 10 downloads)
Attachments Wiring 001s.JPG (95KB - 10 downloads)
Attachments Wiring 002s.JPG (87KB - 10 downloads)
Attachments Wiring 12s flink.jpg (170KB - 10 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56300B
Posted 2018-06-10 7:14 PM (#564979 - in reply to #564916)
Subject: RE: Reproduction wiring harness



Extreme Veteran

Posts: 446
10010010010025
Location: The Great Northwest
I had Rhode Island Wiring Service make new harnesses for my 56 300B and they did a fantastic job. Every wire was the correct length, the insulation was dead on for color and pattern and all the connectors were perfect. Here is their website www.riwire.com
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57Groucho
Posted 2018-06-10 10:20 PM (#564993 - in reply to #564970)
Subject: Re: Reproduction wiring harness



Veteran

Posts: 110
100
Location: Minneapolis
ttotired - 2018-06-10 3:55 PM

Big job replacing a harness, but worthwhile

I am an auto electrician, so its what I do.

I am not a fan of the universal wiring harnesses as they arnt any easier than making it yourself really. Only positive about them is the fuses and relays, but that's it.

Universal means it universally fits nothing

I rebuilt mine from my 60 dodge, basically took a couple of days (wasn't rushing). That was repair time, not remove and refit, to do that, it would be about a week


Did you basically build a new harness from scratch or did you go through and just replace what you determined needed replacing?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57Groucho
Posted 2018-06-10 10:22 PM (#564995 - in reply to #564979)
Subject: RE: Reproduction wiring harness



Veteran

Posts: 110
100
Location: Minneapolis
56300B - 2018-06-10 6:14 PM

I had Rhode Island Wiring Service make new harnesses for my 56 300B and they did a fantastic job. Every wire was the correct length, the insulation was dead on for color and pattern and all the connectors were perfect. Here is their website www.riwire.com


I looked at their website and their stuff looks great but their catalog stops at 1956 for Desoto so I'll have to give them a call.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57Groucho
Posted 2018-06-10 10:24 PM (#564997 - in reply to #564946)
Subject: Re: Reproduction wiring harness



Veteran

Posts: 110
100
Location: Minneapolis
Space Trukin Wagon - 2018-06-10 9:33 AM

Do you still have the original wiring harness from the car ?

If yes, there’s a company in SoCal that will make a brand new reproduction with the correct connectors. They probably can recreate it even without the original as they use the factory wiring diagrams.
The company is M&H electric. From time to time there’s a backlog so it can take awhile but from experience I can state they do excellent work.

As an FYI they make all the Mopar wiring harness sold through Year One for all the muscle car Mopars. (It’s an agreement that was worked out years ago).
The reason I mention it is because if Year One offers the harness for sale M&H cannot make one, it has to be purchased directly from Year One. However, if it’s a wiring harness not under that agreement then they will make a reproduction.
To the best of my knowledge the earliest Mopar wiring harnesses being offered by Year One begins with the 1964 model year so it shouldn’t be a problem with any of the FL cars.


I do still have the original wiring, it's still in the car. I'm really hoping that I won't have to send mine out though because I'm impatient haha. Good things come to those who wait though.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Rob
Posted 2018-08-08 7:40 PM (#568090 - in reply to #564916)
Subject: RE: Reproduction Wiring Harness


Elite Veteran

Posts: 967
5001001001001002525
The wiring for the '56 and older cars is encased in rubber and then covered with cloth. Over time the rubber hardens and the cloth rots, the wiring becomes extremely brittle, any slight bend will break the rubber and cloth.

The '57 and newer cars use plastic wiring.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)