The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Issues with controlling a Powerflite with a Torqueflite shifter box?
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Transmission and Rear AxleMessage format
 
56D500boy
Posted 2019-03-22 1:27 AM (#579697)
Subject: Issues with controlling a Powerflite with a Torqueflite shifter box?



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5175
5000100252525
Location: Lower Mainland BC
As part of my planned Powerflite to cast iron A-466 Torqueflite swap for my 56 Dodge Custom Royal, I will need to swap in the NOS Torqueflite pushbutton shifter box at some point. I "know" (read somewhere) that if you don't swap to a proper Torqueflite pushbutton shifter box and just stick with the Powerflite pushbutton shifter box, "L" (low) would be "2" and you can never start out and hold "1" ("2" would start out in "1" and then shift up to "2").

So my question is, if I pre-swap the shifter box from Powerflite to Torqueflite box before I've swapped the transmission, will I still be able to get "L" on the Powerflite, i.e. by selecting "2" on the Torqueflite pad? (I'm presuming that "N", "D" and "R" would be compatible.

This is what I have to play with:





And this is how I've figured it worked:



I don't know how the Powerflite cable throw arm compares to the Torqueflite boxes throw in terms of distance moved.



Edited by 56D500boy 2019-03-22 1:28 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2019-03-23 1:07 AM (#579739 - in reply to #579697)
Subject: Re: Issues with controlling a Powerflite with a Torqueflite shifter box?



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5804
5000500100100100
Location: So. California
Yes, that should work fine. I just don't know what might happen if you accidentally push the 1 button. Maybe it won't move?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2019-03-23 1:37 AM (#579741 - in reply to #579739)
Subject: Re: Issues with controlling a Powerflite with a Torqueflite shifter box?



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5175
5000100252525
Location: Lower Mainland BC
Powerflite - 2019-03-22 10:07 PM

Yes, that should work fine. I just don't know what might happen if you accidentally push the 1 button. Maybe it won't move?


Thanks Nathan. I am going to go ahead with swapping the shift boxes (as soon as I figure out how the housing comes off the dash)

I can see one bolt from the side of the dash in this photo (I am sure that is easy to get at - NOT)



Top of the page Bottom of the page
wizard
Posted 2019-03-23 7:50 AM (#579748 - in reply to #579697)
Subject: Re: Issues with controlling a Powerflite with a Torqueflite shifter box?



Board Moderator & Exner Expert 10K+

Posts: 11978
500050001000500100100100100252525
Location: Southern Sweden - Sturkö island
I don't see what you'll gain from changing the pushbutton unit Before the transmission exchange Dave.


The PowerFlite has the same type of semi-crescent lever with one notchs for each gear position for the stop-ball as the TorqueFlite, BUT it the fulcrum point to is different it would mean that you won't get the correct gear position or not being able to start the car even if N is engaged.

For to confirm that the distance of travel is compatible, you need to pull the pan and temporary install the TorqueFlite unit and cable.

For me, this seems to be much work just to get the TF pushbutton unit mounted.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2019-03-24 6:50 PM (#579844 - in reply to #579697)
Subject: Re: Issues with controlling a Powerflite with a Torqueflite shifter box?



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5804
5000500100100100
Location: So. California
The reverse has been done many times. People install torqueflites and use them with the 2 speed buttons. It works and the travel matches up as long as you eliminate 1st gear. For that reason, doing things in reverse should also work.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2019-03-24 9:24 PM (#579848 - in reply to #579844)
Subject: Re: Issues with controlling a Powerflite with a Torqueflite shifter box?



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5175
5000100252525
Location: Lower Mainland BC
wizard - 2019-03-23 4:50 AM

I don't see what you'll gain from changing the pushbutton unit Before the transmission exchange Dave.The PowerFlite has the same type of semi-crescent lever with one notchs for each gear position for the stop-ball as the TorqueFlite, BUT it the fulcrum point to is different it would mean that you won't get the correct gear position or not being able to start the car even if N is engaged. For to confirm that the distance of travel is compatible, you need to pull the pan and temporary install the TorqueFlite unit and cable. For me, this seems to be much work just to get the TF pushbutton unit mounted.


Powerflite - 2019-03-24 3:50 PM

The reverse has been done many times. People install torqueflites and use them with the 2 speed buttons. It works and the travel matches up as long as you eliminate 1st gear. For that reason, doing things in reverse should also work.


I am surprised to say it but it turns out that both of you are wrong (Sorry Sven, Sorry Nathan). With hints from Dave H., I pulled the Powerflite shifter box from its housing and checked the throw pattern. It is exactly the *opposite* of the 56/57 1673 906 torqueflite shifter box that I will be using during this swap. The 1673 906 torqueflite shifter throws the cable furthest towards the transmission in "R" and pulls it furthest away in "1". The Powerflite box throws it the furthest towards the transmission in "L" and pulls it furthest back in "R". Just the opposite of the torqueflite. So no early swap for me.

At least I learned out to swap the shifter boxes. It will now take less than 10 minutes when I actually do it doing the transmission swap.

The 1673 906 shift pattern:



The Powerflite shift pattern, in series, N, D, L and R:



Edited by 56D500boy 2019-03-25 1:17 AM




(56DodgePowerFliteShifterBox_Neutral.jpg)



(56DodgePowerFliteShifterBox_Drive.jpg)



(56DodgePowerFliteShifterBox_Low.jpg)



(56DodgePowerFliteShifterBox_Reverse.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments 56DodgePowerFliteShifterBox_Neutral.jpg (129KB - 43 downloads)
Attachments 56DodgePowerFliteShifterBox_Drive.jpg (168KB - 43 downloads)
Attachments 56DodgePowerFliteShifterBox_Low.jpg (178KB - 43 downloads)
Attachments 56DodgePowerFliteShifterBox_Reverse.jpg (163KB - 42 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2019-03-25 11:19 AM (#579873 - in reply to #579697)
Subject: Re: Issues with controlling a Powerflite with a Torqueflite shifter box?



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5804
5000500100100100
Location: So. California
Interesting. I didn't realize they had opposite throw. What you have stated for the Powerflite box is what I remember from my box too. Reverse pulls the cable the most. This made it so I could come from the front of a newer trans to adapt it to the push-buttons. But the torqueflite box would need to come from the rear of the trans according to what you have laid out. Makes me wonder how the previous people made this swap work. I wonder if they attached the cable to the opposite side of the fulcrum, or if they did it at all and were just blowing steam. Or maybe they re-labeled the buttons?

Edited by Powerflite 2019-03-25 11:22 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)