The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

replace turn signal switch 1959 Dodge
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> General Technical Discussion and TroubleshootingMessage format
 
1959Dodge
Posted 2019-04-15 2:04 AM (#580896)
Subject: replace turn signal switch 1959 Dodge



Expert

Posts: 2204
2000100100
Location: Yorba Linda, Ca
I bought a new switch and also the cam for the turn signal mechanism
for my 59 Dodge.

How big a job is it to replace the turn signal switch?
can the wires be fed down the steering column or does the steering column
need to be removed, and how big a job is that?

Thanks

Gary

April 14, 2019
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2019-04-15 8:47 AM (#580905 - in reply to #580896)
Subject: RE: replace turn signal switch 1959 Dodge



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5175
5000100252525
Location: Lower Mainland BC
Pretty sure that if you pull the steering wheel (to get access to the switch) it will become self-evident that the job is not as bad as you are thinking.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
1959Dodge
Posted 2019-04-15 10:36 AM (#580909 - in reply to #580905)
Subject: RE: replace turn signal switch 1959 Dodge



Expert

Posts: 2204
2000100100
Location: Yorba Linda, Ca
Well, good news, You do NOT have to remove the steering column to replace the
turn signal switch. Go Here to see how to do it:

http://www.chrysler300club.com/how/cancel/jett.html

Thank You for your response!!!

Gary

Edited by 1959Dodge 2019-04-15 10:38 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2019-04-15 10:59 AM (#580912 - in reply to #580896)
Subject: Re: replace turn signal switch 1959 Dodge



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5804
5000500100100100
Location: So. California
You'll need a steering wheel puller and to disconnect the wires from the connector below. Pulling the wires out isn't too hard, just do them one at a time. I am not sure about how to get them back through the lower hole. Probably just have to move it around until you can get it lined up well or try the snake wire mentioned in the article you posted.

Edited by Powerflite 2019-04-15 11:01 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)