The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

1956 Fury Tachometer
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> General Technical Discussion and TroubleshootingMessage format
 
ABloch
Posted 2019-04-16 2:36 AM (#580960)
Subject: 1956 Fury Tachometer



Elite Veteran

Posts: 1065
10002525
Location: Pacific Northwest
Working out some of the bugs in a 1956 Fury and I am wondering about the workings of the tachometer. I have a rebuilt sending unit. I am about to send out the dual point distributor to get it recurved and was wondering if this system would work with a single point dizzy?

Anyone know if the sending unit will work with a single point? Any benefit over the dual point? I suppose I could run something that will work with the electronic unit in there but I want to run the factory tach. So much cooler.

Thanks
Top of the page Bottom of the page
mstrug
Posted 2019-04-16 1:42 PM (#580974 - in reply to #580960)
Subject: Re: 1956 Fury Tachometer



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5725
500050010010025
Location: Newark, Texas (Fort Worth)
Try these guys:

https://www.technoversions.com/TachMatchHome.html
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2019-04-16 3:05 PM (#580981 - in reply to #580960)
Subject: Re: 1956 Fury Tachometer



Expert 5K+

Posts: 5270
50001001002525
Location: So. California
Both points should open at the same time so I don't think there is much of a difference in terms of the electrical system. The benefit of running dual points is the reduced current across each set, which prolongs their life. Based on that, I don't see a reason why a single point distributor wouldn't work with the drive; as mechanically, there is no difference between how it would mount.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
ABloch
Posted 2019-04-16 7:12 PM (#580987 - in reply to #580960)
Subject: Re: 1956 Fury Tachometer



Elite Veteran

Posts: 1065
10002525
Location: Pacific Northwest
Thanks you two. I'm going to try to keep it factory-ish if I can get it to work. I haven't read the articles myself but I have been told there are reviews from back in the day that state that the tach isn't very accurate. There is nothing in FSM about the tachometer system so we'll see what happens. Dropped the tach off at the shop today. Should be done late next week. Can't wait!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)