The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Fuel gauge not working
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Electrical, Battery and ChargingMessage format
 
Chrome58
Posted 2019-04-29 11:52 AM (#581502)
Subject: Fuel gauge not working



Expert

Posts: 1220
1000100100
Location: Belgium, 40 miles south of Brussels
Hello,

It's been bothering me for 2 years now : the fuel gauge does not work on my '58 Plymouth.
It never worked since restoration ended.

After start up, the needle goes approximatively to the middle of the range and stays there, whatever is in the tank.
At first, I thought that the ground was faulty, since I did not have a metal thingy between the sender and the steel line.
I bought one, installed it, but same thing.

How can I check if it's the gauge that's faulty or not, before disassembling the sender ?

Thanks.

Edited by Chrome58 2019-04-29 11:53 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2019-04-29 1:46 PM (#581513 - in reply to #581502)
Subject: RE: Fuel gauge not working



Expert

Posts: 4598
20002000500252525
Location: Lower Mainland BC
How easy is it to take the sender out of the tank. Since the sender is just a float with a contact on a variable resistor (rheostat), it sounds like the issue is with the rheostat or the float is hanging up/getting stuck and not going through the full swing that it should with a more than half full tank. Otherwise, it could be an issue with the gauge itself. (The ground must be good enough if you are getting any signal at all)

Example (only) fuel gauge sender:

Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2019-04-29 1:52 PM (#581514 - in reply to #581502)
Subject: RE: Fuel gauge not working



Expert

Posts: 3159
200010001002525
Location: NorCal
Remove the wire at the sender and ground it to a GOOD ground, turn the key to ON and the gauge should climb to FULL. If it does the gauge is good.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
60 dart
Posted 2019-04-29 2:19 PM (#581518 - in reply to #581502)
Subject: Re: Fuel gauge not working



Expert 5K+

Posts: 8511
500020001000500
Location: WHEELING,WV.>>>HOME OF WWVA
wrong sender --------------------------------------------------------later
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Chrome58
Posted 2019-05-01 7:22 AM (#581603 - in reply to #581514)
Subject: RE: Fuel gauge not working



Expert

Posts: 1220
1000100100
Location: Belgium, 40 miles south of Brussels
57chizler - 2019-04-29 7:52 PM

Remove the wire at the sender and ground it to a GOOD ground, turn the key to ON and the gauge should climb to FULL. If it does the gauge is good.


Thanks, I did just that, and the gauge is working OK.
Therefore, the problem is in the sender.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
wizard
Posted 2019-05-01 7:38 AM (#581605 - in reply to #581502)
Subject: Re: Fuel gauge not working



Board Moderator & Exner Expert 10K+

Posts: 11908
500050001000500100100100100
Location: Southern Sweden - Sturkö island
Or in a bad ground between the tank and body/frame. Try to pull a temporary earth wire directly from the tank send to a good ground. If this is not helping, then the sender is gone (or blocked by rust and sand).
Top of the page Bottom of the page
ronbo97
Posted 2019-05-01 10:57 AM (#581617 - in reply to #581605)
Subject: Re: Fuel gauge not working


Expert

Posts: 3269
200010001001002525
Location: Connecticut
Is it the original sending unit or aftermarket ? Many of the aftermarket senders are not calibrated correctly and could cause this issue.Ron
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Chrome58
Posted 2019-05-03 12:53 AM (#581709 - in reply to #581617)
Subject: Re: Fuel gauge not working



Expert

Posts: 1220
1000100100
Location: Belgium, 40 miles south of Brussels
wizard - 2019-05-01 1:38 PM

Or in a bad ground between the tank and body/frame. Try to pull a temporary earth wire directly from the tank send to a good ground. If this is not helping, then the sender is gone (or blocked by rust and sand).

OK I'll try that.
Thanks.

ronbo97 - 2019-05-01 4:57 PM

Is it the original sending unit or aftermarket ? Many of the aftermarket senders are not calibrated correctly and could cause this issue.Ron

It's an aftermarket.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Chrome58
Posted 2019-05-03 2:04 PM (#581723 - in reply to #581502)
Subject: Re: Fuel gauge not working



Expert

Posts: 1220
1000100100
Location: Belgium, 40 miles south of Brussels
This thread will be useful : http://www.forwardlook.net/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=71260&...
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)