The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Steering and Suspension Upgrades?
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Steering and SuspensionMessage format

no_jive55
Posted 2019-12-10 7:58 AM (#591383)
Subject: Steering and Suspension Upgrades?

I'm restoring a 1960 Plymouth station wagon and I am to the point where I am deciding on how I want the front end to be set up. Keep in mind that I am a college student working part time so i'm trying to be as financially resourceful  as I can be. 
First, I would like to convert to power steering. I have looked into the YouTurn1 kit which is about $950 and have heard good reviews on the product.
Second, I would like to transfer from drums to disc brakes in the front. I  have found about 3 different conversion kits (scarcebird, AAJ brakes, and classic disc brakes) all ranging in the $850- $900 range.
With all that being said a fellow mechanic suggested to me that I install a mustang II front end instead. He says that a Mustang II front end is a lot cheaper to build and maintain, and they supply a much better ride in terms of suspension and steering. I am a little hesitant of this idea. Mostly because I have never been able to drive my Plymouth to really tell if it rides well or not, and I have never driven a car with a Mustang II front end underneath it so I have no way to make a comparison. I would like to keep the car as original as possible but I also want the car to drive good as possible. I hope some of you guys could give me some thoughts/ input/ ideas on what is best, what you have done in the past or input on how a 1960 Plymouth really rides, also what are my best options to try and stay on a budget. Input would be greatly appreciated!