The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

What is a Super Red Ram engine? Poly or Hemi?
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Engine, Exhaust, Fuel and IgnitionMessage format

riverroadgarage
Posted 2004-02-13 8:56 AM (#1223)
Subject: What is a Super Red Ram engine? Poly or Hemi?

New User

Hey all,

Newbie here seeking some info. I recently came across a 57 Dodge Custom Royale with a Super Red Ram engine. I was wondering what this is all about. Is it anything rare or unusual. I have been told by some it is a hemi. Some tell me it is a poly motor. Here's what I know. It has Valve covers that say Super Red Ram on them with wavy edges on the exhaust manifold side of them. It also has a 4 hole intake with individual runners to each cylinder. Personally I have never seen anything like it. I can by the whole car for $20. It is a 4-door with mostly mint chrome and stainless. The body....well that's another story, although it does have a good hood and windshield. Should I pick this up to help finance my 69 Charger project. Or should I leave it sit where it has been the past 30 years. Any help or knowledge on this subject would be greatly appreciated.......Thanks Guys
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DeSotohead
Posted 2004-02-13 9:37 AM (#1225 - in reply to #1223)
Subject: RE: What is a Super Red Ram engine? Poly or Hemi?

Board Moderator

Dodge juggled names of their engines.
First there was the 241 Red Ram. All of these in Dodges were hemis for 53-54.
Then in 1955 displacement went to 270 CID, and the Red Ram was a poly, and the SUPER RED RAM was the hemi.