The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

61 Windsor doesn't shift into higher gears correctly
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Transmission and Rear AxleMessage format
 
drosera88
Posted 2017-10-28 3:39 AM (#551219)
Subject: 61 Windsor doesn't shift into higher gears correctly



Elite Veteran

Posts: 671
5001002525
Location: San Antonio TX
So, just today, my 61 has started to not shift into higher gears correctly. The shift from 1st to 2nd is happening at a higher RPM than it used to, and I can't seem to hit third at all even at highway speeds. I used to run about 2100-2600 RPMs on the freeway, but now I'm hitting 2900-3300 RPMs at highway speeds. I also found out that if I shift it briefly into neutral when it's at highway speed and then put it back into gear, it goes back into third like it's supposed to and my RPMs go back down to normal. I don't hear any unusual noises while driving in any gear, and I don't notice any unusual vibrations either.

Where should I begin with this? Does this have something to do with the push button electronics adn wiring? Or is it more likely that I am dealing with a transmission problem?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Shep
Posted 2017-10-28 7:34 AM (#551222 - in reply to #551219)
Subject: Re: 61 Windsor doesn't shift into higher gears correctly



Expert

Posts: 3016
20001000
Location: Chestertown, NY ( near Lake George)
I would start by following the shop manual procedure for checking and setting the throttle linkage to the trans.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
finsruskw
Posted 2017-10-28 8:50 AM (#551225 - in reply to #551219)
Subject: Re: 61 Windsor doesn't shift into higher gears correctly



Expert

Posts: 1738
100050010010025
Location: Eastern Iowa
Push button electronics?????
You must be kidding!!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2017-10-28 2:52 PM (#551228 - in reply to #551219)
Subject: RE: 61 Windsor doesn't shift into higher gears correctly



Expert

Posts: 2810
2000500100100100
Location: NorCal
drosera88 - 2017-10-28 12:39 AM

So, just today, my 61 has started to not shift into higher gears correctly.


Throttle linkage does affect shift points but it usually occurs over time with wear and sagging rubber mounts; a sudden change in the shift speeds sounds more like a governor problem. Only way to find out is with a test gauge hooked to the governor pressure test port.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Shep
Posted 2017-10-28 2:53 PM (#551229 - in reply to #551225)
Subject: Re: 61 Windsor doesn't shift into higher gears correctly



Expert

Posts: 3016
20001000
Location: Chestertown, NY ( near Lake George)
C'mon, be nice.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
drosera88
Posted 2017-10-28 3:57 PM (#551232 - in reply to #551225)
Subject: Re: 61 Windsor doesn't shift into higher gears correctly



Elite Veteran

Posts: 671
5001002525
Location: San Antonio TX
Thank you! I will look into the linkage. I just had a FiTech carb replacement and a new intake manifold installed and it necessitated modification to the linkage.

finsruskw - 2017-10-28 7:50 AM

Push button electronics?????
You must be kidding!!


I'm not familiar with electrical and I just recently had electrical work done. The buttons are right near the turn signal switch which has been a trouble spot on my car, so I was just throwing it out there.

57chizler - 2017-10-28 1:52 PM

Throttle linkage does affect shift points but it usually occurs over time with wear and sagging rubber mounts; a sudden change in the shift speeds sounds more like a governor problem. Only way to find out is with a test gauge hooked to the governor pressure test port.


I will look into this after the linkage. I'm gonna investigate the linkage first due to it being recently modified.

Edited by drosera88 2017-10-28 4:01 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2017-10-29 4:36 PM (#551285 - in reply to #551232)
Subject: Re: 61 Windsor doesn't shift into higher gears correctly



Expert

Posts: 2810
2000500100100100
Location: NorCal
drosera88 - 2017-10-28 12:57 PM

Thank you! I will look into the linkage. I just had a FiTech carb replacement and a new intake manifold installed and it necessitated modification to the linkage.


Aha!! Shoulda mentioned that right off.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

Search for anything on eBay!

(Delete all cookies set by this site)