The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

61 A/C
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Heating, Cooling and Air ConditioningMessage format
 
christine-lover
Posted 2018-09-17 5:50 PM (#570273)
Subject: 61 A/C



Expert

Posts: 2854
20005001001001002525
Location: Sept. 1958
Recently I noticed the A/C wasn't working in my NYer, compressor wouldn't engage and blower motor inop. So I looked at the fuse, not blown, but when I tested it with a test light, no power at the one side. Replaced it and A/C compressor works, blows cold. Something to keep in mind, possibly the fuse is bad but not blown during inspection. Also, I bought an NOS push button HVAC selector few months back since it was only $50. Replaced that too and rewired the fan speed circuits at the switch, since high speed was the middle detent. The new push button selector is a night and day difference to the used one. Used one wasn't too bad, but these things brand new push in so easily.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
christine-lover
Posted 2018-09-21 6:53 PM (#570535 - in reply to #570273)
Subject: RE: 61 A/C



Expert

Posts: 2854
20005001001001002525
Location: Sept. 1958
When either one of the A/C buttons are pushed in, the blower motor will work, but with either the DEF or Heat, no blower motor output. Is it safe to assume the push button switch is faulty? Looking at the HVAC wiring diagram, that's only thing I can think off. Any ideas?

Edited by christine-lover 2018-09-21 6:55 PM




(IMG_8912.PNG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments IMG_8912.PNG (118KB - 16 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
ttotired
Posted 2018-09-21 7:19 PM (#570540 - in reply to #570273)
Subject: Re: 61 A/C



Expert 5K+

Posts: 8263
5000200010001001002525
Location: Perth Australia
Depending on the fuse manufacturer, its not that uncommon to come across the fuse fault you found

The best ones have fuse wire in them and are soldered at the ends (you can see the wire outside the end caps)

The ones with a flat strip with a skinny bit in the middle are a gamble.

Most are soldered, but its hit and miss wether the strip actually tins and solders

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)