The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Transmission and Rear AxleMessage format
 
plumfloored
Posted 2018-10-10 1:24 AM (#571420)
Subject: Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58


Member

Posts: 48
25
Location: Avondale, AZ
I am looking to swap a car back to push buttons from a floor shifted 727 late model
I bought a 61 361 and 727 to reinstall.
Looking at buying the push buttons, and trim bezels and cables
What other part s? Which cable to buy?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2018-10-10 4:09 PM (#571447 - in reply to #571420)
Subject: RE: Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58



Expert

Posts: 3078
20001000252525
Location: NorCal
A 727 won't mate to a '61 361 without an adapter or a crankshaft change. A '62-'64 pushbutton cable will install on a '57-'61 pushbutton shifter.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2018-10-10 11:58 PM (#571475 - in reply to #571447)
Subject: RE: Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58



Expert

Posts: 4899
20002000500100100100252525
Location: So. California
57chizler - 2018-10-10 1:09 PM
...A '62-'64 pushbutton cable will install on a '57-'61 pushbutton shifter.


If you happen to pick one with the right length like from a truck.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2018-10-11 1:04 PM (#571504 - in reply to #571475)
Subject: RE: Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58



Expert

Posts: 3078
20001000252525
Location: NorCal
Passenger car cables of that era were 42"-48" long, I used one in my '57 NY with a 727.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2018-10-11 2:11 PM (#571514 - in reply to #571420)
Subject: Re: Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58



Expert

Posts: 4899
20002000500100100100252525
Location: So. California
Mine came from a '63 B-body and was about 6" too short. I don't have information to compare the other lengths.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
CrAzYMoPaRGuY
Posted 2018-10-23 12:21 AM (#572203 - in reply to #571420)
Subject: Re: Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58


Veteran

Posts: 140
10025
Location: Locked in my Canadian garage....
Egads I'm gonna try to do this too lol
My car was a 3 in the tree. Converting to an automatic. I don't want a floor shifter. Don't like the look!!!!!
I found a three speed torqueflight pushbutton shifter, excellent shape, no cables so I bought it. I know where a 1965 two cable big block trans is.
I will have to find two cables I assume, and figure a way to activate the parking cable.....? Cut my dash and install the shifter, hook it up and..... ?!? lol
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2018-10-23 1:52 PM (#572220 - in reply to #572203)
Subject: Re: Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58



Expert

Posts: 3078
20001000252525
Location: NorCal
The '65 (and the '64 console shift) use a different shift cable than the pushbutton trans, it won't mate up directly to the PB shifter. You can used a PB cable in the '65 trans but it must be adjusted using the '65 instructions, not the PB instructions.

If you want the Park function, you can mount a park mechanism under the dash to actuate the Park cable.



(Park Low.jpg)



(Park plate.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Park Low.jpg (68KB - 22 downloads)
Attachments Park plate.jpg (60KB - 24 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
RICKYMOPAR
Posted 2018-10-25 6:38 PM (#572360 - in reply to #571420)
Subject: Re: Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58



Veteran

Posts: 199
100252525
Location: Colorful Colorado skier on the license plate
62 to 64 Imperial push button shift cables are 54 inches long. If this would help.

Edited by RICKYMOPAR 2018-10-25 6:39 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2018-10-25 7:25 PM (#572364 - in reply to #571420)
Subject: Re: Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58



Expert

Posts: 4899
20002000500100100100252525
Location: So. California
Thanks Richard! Good to know. I will search for a couple of them so I can swap mine out.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
RICKYMOPAR
Posted 2018-11-05 9:18 PM (#573027 - in reply to #571420)
Subject: Re: Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58



Veteran

Posts: 199
100252525
Location: Colorful Colorado skier on the license plate
I was just wondering....Is there an adapter plate and torque converter centering plate system available for a 727A to the early B and RB engines? Changing and re-balancing crankshafts sucks.

Edited by RICKYMOPAR 2018-11-05 9:23 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Handygun
Posted 2018-12-03 5:27 PM (#574578 - in reply to #571420)
Subject: Re: Reinstalling push buttons and swapping back in a pushbutton 727 into a 58


Elite Veteran

Posts: 1087
1000252525
Location: STL, MO
The bolts in that box look familiar
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)